#19: Korean Steamed Buns with Beef [BA]

Hi! I actually cooked this dish a couple days ago, but college applications are the #1 priority for most high school seniors right now. The good news is, I submitted all my early applications last night!! Hopefully, I’ll have more time to cook now, although I have to start some other applications that are due at the end of the November and December. I might also try to go back to the Pine Street Inn sometime to do some volunteering in their kitchen.

For this dish, the included picture is actually missing one of the parts of the meal: the sweet potato tempura. I sliced the sweet potato into rounds, but after a long search, I concluded that Blue Apron forgot to include the tempura mix in their box this week. Despite the loss of an ingredient, the buns themselves were fairly tasty. I could have improved by cooking the thinly sliced beef a little less; in the end, it came out a little chewy. I tend to overestimate the amount of time it takes beef to cook, especially when it is divided into small or thin pieces. I also really enjoyed the spicy mayo, which was simply mayonnaise and a couple teaspoons of Gochujang sauce, a red chili paste that serves as the backbone of many Korean foods. Spicy mayo happens to be one of my favorite sauces, although this differed in color and heat from the more common light pink iteration made with Sriracha. The bright orange spread coupled with the browned beef, green scallions, crisp pink and white radish slices, and fluffy steamed buns created a visually exciting collage of colors. Presentation is always key, after all.

IMG_3589.JPG

Leave a comment